The Unknown History of Arizona Wildcats Basketball Team

The 2016–17 Arizona Wildcats men’s basketball team will stand for the University of Arizona during the 2016–17 NCAA Division I men’s basketball season. The team is led by eighth-year head coach Sean Miller and will play their home games at McKale Center in Tucson, Arizona as associates in the Pac-12 Conference. Coming into the ’16-’17 season, Arizona has been positioned in 78-consecutive AP polls and 81-straight coaches polls. The 97-consecutive weeks in the AP poll are presently the second-longest stripe in the nation behind Kansas at 161 weeks.

Michael T Eckhardt maintains close ties with the University of Arizona and its sports teams. Since the early twentieth century, Arizona has been playing basketball with their preliminary win coming in the first game the program ever played. A contest in 1904 that resulted in a victory over the Morenci YMCA team marked the first of what would become many wins in the storied convention celebrated today as Arizona Wildcat basketball. Long before joining the Pacific 10 Conference in 1878, many of the games were practiced during the first decade of their coming against local YMCA competition, a practice which was astonishingly prevalent in the era. In reality, the University of Kentucky which has the existing record for most men’s basketball wins also began their custom with a single win over a Lexington YMCA team in 1903.

Coming off the 2008-2009 season, the University of Arizona basketball agenda has a twenty-five-year streak of successive appearances in the NCAA Tournament. For the 2009-2010 season, after getting off to a rocky 12-10 start, many Wildcat fans are fairly concerned that their remarkable streak may be in jeopardy. During the twenty-five-year streak U of A has reached the Sweet Sixteen twelve times, the Final Four on four separate occasions, the Elite Eight seven times, and has one NCAA National Championship to their tribute from the 1997 season.

According to Michael T Eckhardt , much of the achievement enjoyed by the Wildcats over the last twenty-five years can be attributed to respected former head coach Lute Olsen. In 1983, Coach Olsen came from the University of Iowa to take over a University of Arizona basketball program that had just come off of a forgettable 4-24 record which included only one conference victory. In just three short seasons, Coach Olsen incredibly turned the program around from being in the crypt of the conference standings to being an accepted organization of national prominence. In 1986, after winning their first Pac-10 crown, the University of Arizona basketball machine would go on to be a Pac-10 power all through the remnants of the century.

Arizona is a well-known face come March Madness. In truth, during one predominantly fruitful stretch beginning in 1985, the Wildcats qualified for the NCAA Tournament 25 years in a line, just two years shy of the record held by the University of North Carolina. The program has arrived at the Final Four on four occasions (1988, 1994, 1997 and 2001), and made two appearances in the National Championship, beating Kentucky for their single title in 1997 under head coach Lute Olson.